Establishment of BPSCC – 9th February, 2018

In keeping with the Economic Development Policy (EDP) – 2016, the Department of Hydropower & Power Systems (DHPS) under the Ministry of Economic Affairs has led for the establishment of the Bhutan Power System Coordination Committee (BPSCC): BPSCC is a committee constituted for efficient coordination, operation and supply of electricity by the power sector agencies such as Druk Green Power Corporation (DGPC), Bhutan Power Corporation (BPC), Dagachhu Hydro Power Corporation (DHPC), Bhutan Power System Operator (BPSO) and the upcoming hydropower projects.

As the RGoB nodal agency of the sector, the DHPS, MoEA has coordinated for the establishment of BPSCC.

Recognizing the importance of the forum at the national level, the DHPS will assume the role of central coordinator and functions as the Secretariat for the BPSCC while the sector agencies will provide due support in discharge of its functions. The members of the BPSCC consists of DG – DHPS, MD – DGPC, MD – BPC, Head – BPSO (NLDC), Heads of DGPC Power Plants, CEO – DHPS and representatives from the projects under construction.

The first meeting of the BPSCC will be held soon after this inaugural. Bhutan Electricity Authority (BEA) as the sector regulator will be the permanent invitee to the BPSCC meetings.